Who doesn’t want to have their hair blown in the wind and enjoy the incredible highroads in Florida? Certainly not us.
However, remember that everything abides by the law, and license endorsements are necessary if you wish to embark on motorcycle adventures.
No worries; this article will deliver detailed guides on motorcycle endorsement in Florida, ensuring no important information is amiss.
Table of Contents
What Are The Requirements to Get A Motorcycle License in Florida?
To run two-wheeled or three-wheeled vehicles with 50cc engine sizes (minimum) in Florida, you must obtain licenses. Florida licenses are divided into two types, namely motorcycle-only and motorcycle license endorsements. Without one of the two, law-violation fines are inevitable!
The only major distinction between the two licenses is your ability to operate cars. Motorcycle endorsements permit both car and motorbike riding, while motorcycle-only licenses – as the name suggests – only allow you to run motorbikes. Car operation is out of the question!
To seize motorcycle license endorsements, you must:
- Already paid your license fees
- Complete motorcycle endorsement classes like BRC (Basic Rider Course) or BRCu (Basic Rider Courses Updated), according to Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
- Submit valid IDs and evidence of passing BRCu or BRC at a tax collector or driver license office.
- Have a valid driver’s license of Florida Class E.
How about motorcycle-only licenses? This time, you must:
- Already paid your license fees
- At least be 16 years old, with a one-year learner’s license clean of traffic convictions.
- Pass the knowledge exam for a driver’s license of Class E
- Complete BRC (Basic Rider Course) or BRCu (Basic Rider Courses Update), as mentioned in FL 322.12
- Bring valid IDs and evidence of passing BRCu or BRC at a tax collector or driver’s license office.
How to Obtain A Motorcycle License in Florida
1. Ensure Your Current Licenses Are Valid
Have you been licensed already before? Then you also need a valid Class E license – the non-commercial and standard license in this state.
How about those with no driver’s licenses? Then at least apply for learner licenses and pass their knowledge test. After that, hold this license for at least a year.
2. Take A Course on Motorcycle Basic Skills
Florida law states that you must take the BRC (Basic Rider Course, offered by third-party schools) or BRCu (Basic Rider Course Updated). Both include 15 training hours to help beginners handle accidents or unexpected mishaps that may occur on the street.
Even if you are already an experienced rider, these courses are still necessary; trust us, insurers DO love them!
These courses conveniently offer handbooks, helmets, motorcycles, and insurance – terrific news for confused novices.
3. Bring In The Necessary Paperwork
On the trip to acquire an endorsement, do not forget these important pieces of paperwork:
- BRCu or BRC successful completion card (dated in the same calendar year)
- Current license
- Check or cash for charges, including $7 of endorsement fee and 48$ of renewal costs.
Other items that they might ask from you:
- Identity proof (passport, birth cert, SSC,…)
- Residency proof (cable bill, utility bill)
- Name change evidence (if there is any)
- Parental consent forms (if applicable)
4. Go to An Office
Bring the materials to the nearest office to get your endorsements right away. And that’s it!
1. Obtain A Learner’s Permit
Use this permit for at least one year without receiving traffic convictions. And before that, you also must:
- Pass class E driver exams with a total score of at least 80%
- Be at least 16 years old.
- Pass the vision and hearing tests, often organized at local service traffic stations.
- Prepare proof of TLSAE completion (TLSAE stands for Traffic Law/Substance Abuse Education), proof of identity, social security numbers, and current address.
2. Pass Motorcycle-Riding Courses
Similar to wheeled motorcycle endorsements, motorcycle-only licenses also require you to take BRC or BRCu, offered by safety departments and training sponsors.
Failing students can retake the course in two months without paying extra fees.
3. Submit Paperwork and Pay Fees
Once you have settled the courses, it’s time to get the license at a DMV office, bringing all the necessary identification documents (please refer to the steps for motorcycle endorsements).
Also, fee payments are required, including $48 for the licenses and $6.25 for tax collections.
1. Do You Need A Motorcycle License in Florida? Can You Ride Without It?
Yes, licenses are a must if you don’t want to receive fines for violating the law.
2. What Is Included In The Motorcycle Safety Test?
There are 25 questions taken directly from the textbook, and you need to score at least 80% to pass this regular class with flying colors.
Our article has delivered all there is to know regarding Florida motorcycle license requirements and how to get one for future usage. Keep them in mind and ensure you have all the necessary documents/paperwork before enrolling.
And although the process is simple, losing your licenses can result in numerous bothersome verification procedures. Hence, remember to store your license papers somewhere convenient and safe, and try your best not to have them revoked by any authorities.
See more: How Much Does A Motorcycle Cost?